Who Can Vote
Any person who is a citizen of the United States, at least 18 years of age before the election, with a valid ID, and registered to vote in Ashley County may vote. Convicted felons cannot vote unless their sentence has been discharged or pardoned.
Who Can Register to Vote
You must be a U.S. citizen, at least 18 years of age before the election; you need not be 18 at the time you register, but must be by the time you vote.
How and When to Register
The National Voter Registration Act (NVRA) has made it possible for Arkansans to apply to register to vote or change a name or address when applying for or renewing their driver’s license or state identification card at the Dept. of Motor Vehicles. A resident may register to vote in person at the County Clerk’s Office or register to vote by mail. A pre-addressed Voter Registration Application is filled out and mailed to the Secretary of State’s Office where it is then forwarded to the appropriate County Clerk. The applications are available at all participating State Service Agencies, Crossett Public Library, and Crossett Chamber of Commerce. A resident may also download a form online at www.votenaturally.org, complete and mail to the County Clerk. To make a name or address change or if you have any questions concerning voting or voter registration call the County Clerk’s office at 870-853-2020.
When Can You Vote
You must have applied to register to vote 30 calendar days prior to an election to be able to vote in that election. If you have not received confirmation from your County Clerk concerning your voting status within ten days of applying, call the County Clerk’s office at 870-853-2020 immediately.
Absentee and Early Voting
You may vote by mail, using an absentee ballot, any time an election is to be held and you realize you will be unable to go to the polls. An absentee ballot may be obtained from the County Clerk’s office, by mail, in person, or through a designated agent. Completed and mailed absentee ballots must reach the County Clerk’s Office by 7:30 pm on Election Day.
You may also vote early at the County Clerk’s Office and the Crossett Economic Development Building in Crossett up to 15 days prior to Election day.
The polls on Election Day are open from 7:30 am to 7:30 pm.
Driver’s License (to follow)
Auto License (info to follow)
Animal Licenses (info to follow)
Real & Personal Property Taxes
Property taxes in Arkansas are classified as real and personal. Real property taxes are levied on real estate, such as land, homes, other buildings, and on additions to their properties. Personal property taxes are levied on automobiles, boats, trailers, and farm equipment etc.
Between January 1 and May 31 of each year, it is the responsibility of Arkansas property owners to list and value all their personal property in the County and School District where the property is located. Property assessed after May 31, unless acquired after that date, is subject to a delinquency penalty of 10-percent. Any property newly acquired between January 1 and May 31 must be assessed by May 31.
Real and personal property taxes become payable the first business day in March the year after assessment and are delinquent after October 15th of that year. There is a 10-percent penalty for delinquent taxes, plus interest on real estate. If you do not receive a tax notice by May 1st or have any questions, call the County Collector’s office at (870) 853-2050.
Real and personal property may be assessed Monday through Friday at the County Assessor’s office, Ashley County Courthouse, 205 E Jefferson, Hamburg or the Assessor’s Office located inside the Crossett Revenue Office, Main Street, Crossett.
State Income Tax
The deadline for filing Arkansas State income tax returns is May 15th.
Emergency Phone Numbers
For any type of emergency service, anywhere in Ashley County, dial 9-1-1. This includes fire, police, sheriff and ambulance. Non-emergency numbers for municipal governments are listed in local telephone directories.