Collector

Lori Pennington
Tax Collector

Lori Pennington, Tax Collector

Ashley County Courthouse
205 E. Jefferson Street
Hamburg, AR 71646
Phone: 870-853-2050
Visit us on Facebook

What does the Collector do?

The Collector’s office collects property taxes to help support schools, cities, roads, jails, and county expenses based on the millage rates set by the local governments and voters. These taxes are about 1% of the value of your home, car, and other items that you may own.

How do I pay my taxes?

  • Pay Online
    Pay real estate and personal property taxes online with a debit or credit card. You will be charged a processing fee to use this service by the card processing company, Information Network of Arkansas. https://propertytax.ark.org/ashley/index.php
  • Pay in Person
    Ashley County Courthouse
    205 E Jefferson St
    Hamburg AR 71646
  • Pay by Mail
    You will receive a tax statement by mail each year with payment instructions. If you have not received your statement by May 1st, please call our office at 870-853-2050.

When are taxes due?

Taxes are due between March 1st and October 15th every year. If the 15th of October falls on a weekend or a holiday, the deadline will be the following business day. If your taxes are not paid by October 15th a 10% penalty will be added to the personal property and the real estate taxes along with 10% annual interest added to the real estate taxes.

Do you need proof of payment or a copy of your receipt?

https://www.actdatascout.com/TaxCollector/Arkansas/Ashley

Other Links:

Millage Rates

What is a millage rate?

A mill is equal to $1 of the property tax for each $1000 of assessed value. The full assessed value of property in Arkansas is 20% of its market value.

For Example, if you house has a market value of $100,000:

  • Assessed Value: $100,000 x 20% = $20,000
  • Value of one (1) mill:  $20,000 ÷ 1,000 = $20

So, if your house is valued at $100,000, a one (1) mill property tax rate would cost you $20 per year.

Ashley County 2018 Millage Rates
Collected in 2019
Real Estate & Personal Property

Crossett Rural
County General 5.0
County Road 1.4
County Library .90
School 39.97
TOTAL 47.27
Hamburg Rural
County General 5.0
County Road 1.4
County Library .90
School 35.0
TOTAL 42.80
Crossett City
County General 5.0
County Road 1.4
County Library 2.4
School 39.97
City General 5.0
Fireman Pension .30
TOTAL 54.07
Hamburg City
County General 5.0
County Road 1.4
County Library .90
School 35.5
City General 5.0
   
TOTAL 47.80
 Fountain Hill Rural
 County General 5.0 
County Road  1.4 
County Library .90 
School  35.50 
TOTAL 42.80
Portland Rural 
County General  5.0 
County Road  1.4 
County Library  .90 
School  35.50 
TOTAL 42.80
Fountain Hill City
County General 5.0
County Road    1.4
County Library .90
School  35.50
City General 5.0
   
TOTAL 47.80
Portland City
County General 5.0
County Road  1.5
County Library .90
School  35.50
City General 5.0
Fireman Pension .40
TOTAL 48.20
Montrose Rural
County General 5.0
County Road  1.4
County Library .90
School 36.00
TOTAL 43.30
Parkdale Rural
County General 5.0
County Road  1.4
County Library 390
School 35.50
TOTAL 42.80
Montrose City
County General 5.0
County Road  1.4
County Library .690
School 36.
City General 5.
Fireman Pension .30
TOTAL 48.60
Parkdale City
County General 5.0
County Road  1.4
County Library .960
School 35.5
City General 5.0
   
TOTAL 47.80
Wilmot Rural
County General 5.0
County Road  1.4
County Library .90
School 35.50
   
TOTAL 42.80
Wilmont City
County General 5.0
County Road  1.4
County Library .90
School 35.50
City General 5.0
TOTAL 47.80

Tax Exemption for Disabled Veterans

Do I quality for the tax exemption?

If you are a veteran or an unmarried widow of a veteran, that is disabled due to a SERVICE-CONNECTED injury and considered to be permanent and totally disabled you are eligible to receive a tax exemption on your personal property taxes and your real estate taxes. Real estate taxes means the homestead which is your primary dwelling and any land contiguous to it excluding additional dwellings on the property and commercial property. However, this exemption does not include any improvement districts or clean-up fees that is added to your taxes. Each year, the Veteran or surviving spouse must provide a letter from the Department of Veterans Affairs to our office by October 15th stating their eligibility to receive the exemption.

Arkansas Statute 26-3-306 provides tax exemption for homestead and personal property owned by the disabled veteran and, with restrictions, the surviving spouse and minor dependent children for residents of Arkansas. A disabled veteran who has been awarded special monthly compensation by the Department of Veteran Affairs for the loss of, or the loss of use of one or more limbs, for total blindness in one or both eyes, or for service-connected 100% total and permanent disability shall be exempt from all state taxes on the homestead and personal property owned by the disabled veteran.

  • The Veteran/Widow must be on the Personal Property Assessment and Title
  • The Veteran/Widow must be listed as the owner on the Real Estate property
  • The Veteran/Widow must submit Summary of Benefits letter to our office
  • The Veteran/Widow is not eligible for the Amendment 79 Homestead Credit or Over 65 Freeze while they are receiving the DAV Exemption
  • The Widow of a Disabled Veteran must be in receipt of Dependency and Indemnity Compensation (DIC) in order to receive the exemption.

Terms & Definitions used by the Collector’s Office

“AD VALOREM”
An ad valorem tax is a tax based on the assessed value of an item such as real estate or personal property. 

ASSESSMENT
To claim ownership of personal property or business personal property, it must be assessed with the Assessor’s Office each year between January 1st and May 31st.  If not assessed by the deadline a 10% penalty is added to the overall tax amount due for the tax year.

CERTIFIED TO THE STATE
Real Estate that has been delinquent for two years in our office. No tax delinquent lands shall be sold at the county level. Each year, a list of property falls into this category and is sent to the State Land Commissioner’s Office. The property will remain at the State until the land owner pays the taxes or until the property is sold at public auction.

DISABLED VETERANS
Veterans who are considered service-connected and total and permanently disabled.

HOMESTEAD CREDIT
Amendment 79 was passed in 2000 and each homeowner was entitled to a $300 tax credit. In 2007, it was increased to a $350 tax credit on their one homestead or mobile home and it must be applied for through the Assessor’s Office.

INTEREST
10% annual simple interest charged on the outstanding balance of delinquent real estate taxes.

MILLAGE
The tax rate, as for property, assessed in mills per dollar.  A mill is .0010 percent (10 mills equals 1 penny)

PARCEL NUMBER
A number that verifies real estate ownership, sale information, and property values for a particular parcel.

PENALTY
10% is added to the ad valorem taxes that are paid after October 15th on both personal property and real estate.

PERSONAL PROPERTY
Vehicles, motorcycles, ATV’s, boats, travel trailers, etc. These things must be assessed with the Assessors Office each year between January 1st and May 31st.  Personal property must be paid in full before all real estate taxes can be paid.

PPAN – PERSONAL PROPERTY ASSESSMENT NUMBER
This is the number given by the Assessor’s Office where your vehicles are listed

REAL ESTATE PROPERTY
Ownership of land, mobile homes, buildings, or improvements